top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejharna choudhury

Thoughts are no sweet milk (A Poem)

Published in SETU / ISSN 2475-1359 / Bilingual monthly journal published from Pittsburgh, USA

..................................................................


The other day

I went walking and stuffed three pebbles in my pocket

and it turns out they were two,

the third one was air.

Another day I do not know

how I ended up with the wrong pin number in an envelope,

rang wrong phone numbers, missed my room number,

lost my car number and I assumed I am not good with numbers

or wrong was too wrong for me;

but then when

somebody asked me my address

I remembered a road and a house

and that's it,

that’s all I have for today, close the curtains I said.

Next day, somebody said hi in a cafe,

late afternoon,

that somebody offered me coffee,

hot cold yellow black brown milk,

I said “just coffeee”.

I did not mean an extra e.

“Hi, your name?”

I said Mi-li and left.

Outside a house, by the road,

a door opened to a bell.

A lady rushed to me, saying

“Darling Ju”, and hugged me so hard

that my mind whirled back thinking

there was no pebble, but a bird,

its bones crushed in my net pocket;

and I didn't know what to do with its tongue

curled out to me like a pointy feeling,

but to emboss in words.


-


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page